London – Day 1

My first day in the UK definitely was a test of travel skills and fortitude. I stepped off my flight with a full 20 minutes worth of sleep to a 6 am London only beginning to wake. I suppose my sleep deprived self seemed a little suspicious to the border patrol agent considering the quick question and answer session that most others got turned into more of a miniature job interview for myself. He only seemed to be satisfied after I told him that I was in the military and I showed him my ID. Go figure.

After an hour at the baggage claim waiting for my bag to roll around I discovered that someone had already taken my bag off and put it at the bottom of a pile of unclaimed luggage in the corner. I meandered my way through the London Heathrow airport, which was every bit as busy and hectic as any American airport. Imagine how happy I was to find that when I tried to pull out money for the first time that all my bank accounts had been frozen despite the hour I spent on the phone with them the day prior explaining that I would be traveling.

Someone must have been testing me.

But after 15 Euro international phone call and a couple deep breaths, I was finally on my way. The London subway system, or “underground”, is incredibly user friendly which was a nice change of pace, and the train I caught took me within a 5 minute walk to my hostel.

DSCN0249

London is everything and nothing like I expected it would be. Despite being an ocean away it still has a very Americanized feel. I guess the best way to describe it would be Washington D.C. with a British accent. The architecture is incredible, pictures do no justice whatsoever. Gothic style churches loom overhead while rows of townhouses line each side of the street. It exudes history.

The people here are amazing too. I don’t think I’ve met one person who was rude or seemed bothered to talk to me. It seems like I do something embarrassing about every 10 minutes but they’re always patient and take the time to explain things to me. I don’t think I would get that kind of reception in the States. I had an interesting conversation with a man in a restroom about the President and how to become successful. He told me that I should follow Obama around like a groupie, and every chance I got I should walk up to him and introduce myself until he finally could recognize me. Then, someday I could use the President as a reference when I try to get a job in government. I think it’s a flawless plan if I do say so myself. But he only told me this on the condition that when I tell the story of how I became successful to my grandchildren, I say it all started with a conversation with a man in London named Harris. Will do, Harris.

The British Museum

The British Museum

I spent the rest of the day browsing the British museum and sampling some of the local food. British food doesn’t deserve the bad reputation it has, I thought it was delicious. And yes, Guinness is distinguishingly better tasting in London. I can only imagine how it will taste in Dublin.

I’m carrying around a little notebook that I’m writing some of the interesting things I’ve noticed while traveling abroad and as I wrap up each post I’m going to write a few of them here for y’all to see. Hope you enjoy!

Travel Bullets

  • A Euro is almost worth twice as much as a dollar, close your eyes when the ATM shows you your account balance.
  • London taxi drivers are simply impressive.
  • Londoners will walk through you if you’re in their way but don’t expect them to move out of the way for you.
  • Street performers are just as pushy for money as in the US but about half as talented (so far).
  • Girls taking duckface selfies crosses all cultures.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment